top of page

"The Rowe" revised audio



Today I re-mastered the audio for the song, so I also rendered the video again to re-post it. I have changed the way I mix audio since five years ago, so I have to do a lot of adjusting in the editor. It has different screen art to distinguish from the 2017 posting. Later, I will re-master all of the audio from three short sets that I created around the same time and then combine them into a single set.


Original notes about the video:


This is the first music video for my cover of "The Rowe". In 2016, a friend and I discussed some ideas for a short story with a paranormal flare. During the fall I decided to bring this theme into the song while centering around a mysterious object that attaches itself to a finder, reveals amazing dimensional properties but then ultimately leads to one's disappearance. After a few days of nailing some things down, I then wrote up a detailed time line as we set out visiting four different locations over the next couple of weeks. At the first place, we began recording many short clips in an abandoned construction site. This area included a large open space planned for a huge retail development that had stalled out. Two other places around a park and river were easy to access and went quickly. And then after a period of bad weather, we finally drove out a couple of hours to a covered bridge built in 1894 which provided another setting to finish out the video. Also to follow more closely to the lyrics, we had made a giant egg out of paper strips - though I objected to pouring of actual eggs on my head and decided to go with manic-panic's gothic foundation instead. By the end, it seemed like such a long venture for a few minutes of results. Now if you look carefully on the UK album cover where the song first appears, you can find a tiny outline of the mysterious object.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page