top of page

New project art

Updated: Mar 14, 2021

Last week I met with the photographer to shoot some exposures at a local park that has ground features such as foot bridges and interesting architectures. I had previously suggested doing something with a blurring effect but without doing it post-production in an editor. So we experimented with taking several exposures in front of a chain-link fence and then again in front of some bridgework. It did not go well because the background had sharp lines of contrast compared to my outlines in motion. I had chosen a couple of examples before we started, included an early Tears for Fears cover where Curt is shown moving out of a chair. I noted that the background in that example was very plain and seemed to re-enforce the effect rather than interfere with it. So I then suggested that we go again to a roadway overpass that I knew had solid concrete walls below. It was fairly easy to get there and still early in the afternoon. So we tried a few different poses - the lighting worked much better there. And the lack of sharp features in the background was definitely a plus. So this ended up being the album art photo along with another that we'll use for an alternate release. The effect is not as pronounced as I wanted, but I am still calling it a success!

\


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page